Fate Series A Guide for Navigating the Rocky Waters of Adaptation

 Fate Series A Guide for Navigating the Rocky Waters of Adaptation

The Fate Anime series isn’t just an obscure brand. Although it was first introduced in 2003 with an erotic, visual novel under the name Fate/stay Night, the captivating idea behind TYPEMOON’s worlds and characters has since gone on to influence a multitude of sequels or spinoffs. Particularly, the mobile game Fate/Grand Order has seen a increase in interest in recent years, with the English version always leading the charts in the app store and generating record-breaking revenues.

Yet, the Fate series is also saddle with a bad reputation due to its inaccessibility. The franchise’s many parts are frequently mentione in popular discussion. .

Also check fate anime

While this guide offers three perspectives on the Fate anime but it’s not claiming to be impartial. It provides three options to experience the series based on the availability and production of the series. It’s a conversation for novice and veteran Fate fans.

The Problem With the Fate Series in Anime

The big problem with consuming the Fate series is that the first graphic novel, Fate/stay-night, isn’t legal in the West.

The fact that no one has yet to pick up this license considering that the series has seen rapid growth over the past years is amazing. There are a lot of lesser series that get release on a regular basis. We don’t yet know the specific circumstances (lack of a distributor, or lack of platforms?) However, there are a number of patch files that are not official on the series’ very useful subreddit.

It’s especially unfortunate since all subsequent Fate/stay-night adaptations have been unsatisfactory in some manner. In such situations it’s much easier to suggest reading the original material before diving into any adaptation, but we’re not give that option with regard to the Fate series. Instead, we are stuck in the murky waters of adaptation.

If you’re a novice to the Fate series, here’s a brief explanation The story goes like this: In Fuyuki City, seven Masters and seven Servants fight it to take possession on the Holy Grail: a magical artifact believed to grant the winner’s one wish. The Servants are mythological as well as real-life characters, so this is a battle royale that’s perfect for historians.

Sound good? Here’s your chance to enjoy a little pampering.

Route 1: The Purist

  • 1. Stay the night/Fate (2006)
  • 2. Stay/fate night: Unlimited blade works (2014) and 2nd season (2015)
  • 3. Fate/stay-Night/Heaven’s Feel I. prelude Flower (2017) II. lost butterfly (2019) I. lost butterfly (2019), III. spring song (2020)
  • 4. 2.

For fans of pure religion I believe that the Fate series should be see this way. Why? It’s not just chronological, but it is also an exact mirror of the original story. This is crucial because of the triangular nature of the story.

Fate/stay night, as well as other visual novels, is compose of three different routes’: Unlimited Blade Works on Rin, Fate route, and Heaven’s Feel. These three routes, just like the majority of visual novels, center on three distinct female characters: Fate, Unlimited Blade Works on Rin and Heaven’s Love on Sakura.

Studio DEEN’s 2006 edition is the only one on the list that attempts to modify to the Fate path. The series doesn’t do this just however, as it includes elements from Unlimited Blade Works and Heaven’s Feel. This means things could get confusing. When you consider its outdated visuals It comes out as both an imperfect version of the first sequence and an ideal way to experience the next chapter.

It’s a shame , because if your march directly into Studio Ufotable’s 2014 and 2015 adaptations Unlimited Blade Works, then you’ll likely miss the discovery and growth of one of the series’ most beloved characters. There is a reason why Saber has be feature in nearly every subsequent installment of the Fate series, which has led to the word “Saberface” being use: she’s great, and the fans and the producers recognize that. Unlimited Blade Works is primarily focuse on Rin therefore you won’t be able to see Saber’s evolution there.

I would argue that Unlimite Blade Works is the series’ finest story in terms of ideas and execution, but it’s also a route that works more effectively when paire with the three others. The third aspect is that each of Stay-Night’s major routes are based on top of one another. Fate is the introductory story, and Unlimited Blade Works the backstory. Heaven’s Feel, an entire reverse of that structure, is therefore the most dangerous location to start from.

The Fate series isn’t as effective in anime if it doesn’t have an effective Fate path adaptation. This is why this guide began with the problems contained therein. As to why Fate/Zero is located at the bottom in the next section, we will explain.

Route 2. The New Age

  • 1. 2.
  • 2. Stay/fate night: Unlimited blade works (2014) and 2nd season (2015)
  • 3. Fate/stay-night [Heaven’s Sense] I. the flower of presage (2017) I. lost butterfly (2019) II. spring song (2020)

The most controversial part of Purist’s approach to watching the Fate series is the decision to set Fate/Zero to its very end and Fate/stay overnight in the beginning. Today, it’s a standard practice to jump straight in with Zero and leave out the night completely. While this has merits, it has many issues.

While Fate/stay night does admittedly look and sound very old-fashioned these days, it delivers significant information on the character of Saber which isn’t present in the other versions. The character of Saber has already been explained.

Zero The contrary, was praised for being one of the most beautiful shows ever when it premiered. To my mind, it’s still pretty good to this day. While ufotable’s production methods have advanced, particularly in 3D, Zero still looks solid. Scenes like Saber unleashing Excalibur before the season’s end give me goosebumps.

Also check fate watch order

But, Zero is not the most appropriate place to start watching Fate. Why is this? In simple terms, the first light novel written by Gen Urobuchi (that the series is based upon) was written several years after the original graphic novel first came out and is based on a certain amount of information about the background of the book. While this doesn’t have anything to do with the magic system or the Holy Grail War (the series does a good job of explaining this in the first episodes), the connections between the series and the original tale will be difficult to grasp for first-time viewers.

Fate/Zero is a powerful tool that fills in gaps left by the Fate/stay-night visual novel. This is the case for how it can explain how the Fourth Holy Grail war was ‘unfinished’, and how Gilgamesh was somehow able remain at the mercy of. The satisfaction in finding the answers can be achieved if you’re aware of the fact that there are questions to be answered in the first in the first place! The position of Heaven’s Feel at the end has already been described in the previous section.

Lisa James


Lisa is a 24-year old, passionate writer, and a keen observer. She loves fashion and is always looking for new trends and styles. Not just that, but she’s also the boss lady who is always hustling and trying to get everything done perfectly!

Related post